Project Comic

HPSC3972

Creation Story:  Pan Gu and Nü Wa (http://www.gly.uga.edu/railsback/CS/CSPG&NW.html)

Culture: China

I choose this story not only because i am a Chinese, more because i am proud of my country and five thousand years of its history.

When first time i started to think about the panel and how to form them together, i cant think of any good idea of the panel to express the story. Then I started to think about make each panel part of the composition. In order to show the scale of the “Giant” I make panel 6 become the body of the comic and the background. Use panel 1-5 as little windows to tell the story.  About how I color this picture, I want to try something new and use Prismacolor marker to color this comic picture. I did lots of research on how to color with marker, and I tried my best on it.

I use Scene-to-Scene technique to draw this comic for better understand. Start from the top center, and read clock wise, then read the whole picture, readers will get a pretty good idea of what is happening on the story.

I tried to research lots of “old drawing style” about Chinese myth, and i discovered that spiral plays a important role in Chinese myth, it represent chaos, which important in the early of a creation story. On the cloud, I use 5 different color to represent 5 different element that PanGu have separated. Yellow stands for wind, Green stands for plants, Blue stands for rain, Gray stands for chaos, and Purple stands for scourge.

 

This entry was posted in figure and motion, Foundation, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

